Human Resources > Workplace Learning > Management Training

Management Foundations Training


Welcome to our Management Foundations Training!

This program explores management best practices through the lens of our Vincentian mission and values. You’ll also gain DePaul specific knowledge on interviewing and hiring, performance management, employee relations and compensation. This program is required for all new managers and open to anyone (manager or non-manager) who would like to participate.

New managers are automatically enrolled.   All other staff, email training@depaul.edu to be added to the program.


Course Information

Introduction to Performance Appraisals

Course Code: AP001A

Complete eLearning

At this skill lab you will have a chance to put your knowledge into action, build your confidence in dealing with performance appraisal challenges and learn from your colleagues.

Date Time Campus Location
Monday, August 27, 2018 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. Loop Daley 1001
Tuesday, September 18, 2018 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. LPC LPC 325
Thursday, November 1, 2018 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. Loop Daley 1005
​​

Goal Setting and Maintenance

Course Code: GO001A

Complete eLearning

This skill lab will equip participants with the tools necessary to translate organizational goals, department goals, and job responsibilities into personal S.M.A.R.T goals. Participants will practice writing goals and explore way to monitor and document progress.

Date Time Campus Location
Tuesday, August 28, 2018 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. Loop Daley 1001
Thursday, September 27, 2018 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. LPC LPC 316
Tuesday, November 6, 2018 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. Loop Daley 1005

Ongoing Coaching and Feedback

Course Code: GB001A

Complete eLearning

Managers and employees will gain skills necessary for sharing feedback, documenting progress and focusing on improved performance.

Date Time Campus Location
Thursday, August 30, 2018 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. Loop Daley 1001
Wednesday, October 3, 2018 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. LPC LPC 325
Wednesday, November 14, 2018 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. Loop Daley 1005

Employee Relations and Engagement

Course Code: ER001M

Complete eLearning

This skill lab explores employee and manager engagement, policy and practice, effective management, employee resources and progressive discipline.

Date Time Campus Location
Wednesday, September 5, 2018 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. LPC LPC 324
Tuesday, October 9, 2018 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. Loop Daley 1005
Tuesday, November 27, 2018 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. LPC LPC 380
​​

Interviewing and Hiring at DePaul

Course Code: IH001M

Complete eLearning

This skill lab teaches managers the interviewing and hiring process as it relates to hiring laws and compliance with federal, state, local and university policies. Skill develop focuses on behavioral and interviewing techniques.

Date Time Campus Location
Wednesday, September 12, 2018 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. LPC LPC 316
Thursday, October 18, 2018 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. Loop Daley 1005
Wednesday, December 5, 2018 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. LPC LPC 325
​​

Compensation Basics at DePaul

Course Code: TC001M

Complete eLearning

In this skill-lab we'll practice setting starting salaries, using the merit matrix, discuss best practices for compensation conversations and brainstorm ideas for non-monetary rewards.

Date Time Campus Location
Thursday, September 13, 2018 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. Loop Daley 1001
Wednesday, October 24, 2018 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. LPC LPC 316
Tuesday, December 11, 2018 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. Loop Daley 1005
​​

To register, select your skill lab through the Learning & Development Portal.