DePaul University Academic Affairs > Faculty Resources > Adjunct Resources > Voice in University and Department Academic Life

Voice in University and Department Academic Life

Adjunct faculty members exercise their voice through the Workplace Environment Committee (WEC), an elected body that functions as a focused and responsive vehicle for voicing and resolving workplace concerns, and the Committee on Contingent Faculty, which is part of Faculty Council. They also can participate in department and college meetings and service on representative bodies—though practices vary among schools and colleges.

Workplace Environment Committee

The Workplace Environment Committee (WEC) is an elected advisory body that hears, reports and suggests resolutions for workplace issues affecting the lives of adjunct faculty members across the university. The committee forwards issues of academic policy and governance to Faculty Council and its Committee on Contingent Faculty (CCF). Elections are held at the beginning of fall quarter.

Workplace Environment Committee


2018–19 Workplace Environment Committee member profiles

Selection process and​ parameters​

Contact the WEC at

Committee on Contingent Faculty

The Committee on Contingent Faculty is part of Faculty Council. It reviews, monitors and recommends changes for university policies that impact contingent faculty. The committee focuses on policies that address contingent (full-time term and part-time adjunct) faculty’s academic freedom and benefits. The committee helps to promote the communication and interactions between contingent faculty and tenure-line faculty. It also addresses and advocates for the resolution of contingent faculty concerns and promotes the inclusion of contingent faculty within the university community.



Tenure-line faculty

  • Julie Bokser, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
  • Joseph Ferrari, College of Science and Health
  • Michael Lewanski, School of Music
  • Mary Mindak, College of Business (chair)
  • Sung Park-Johnson, College of Education
  • Russ Rogers, School for New Learning
  • Brian Schrank, College of Computing and Digital Media

Term Faculty

  • Laura Biagi, The Theatre School
  • Jean-Philippe Labruyère, College of Computing and Digital Media
  • Theresa Luhrs, College of Science and Health
  • Ron Marcuson, College of Business
  • Allison Ortlieb, College of Law
  • Adriane Stoner, College of Communication

Adjunct Faculty

  • Veronica Appleton, College of Communication
  • Sarah Hecht, The Theatre School
  • Tyler Kahdeman, College of Education
  • Elisabeth Ward, College of Law
  • Curt Hansman, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
  • Tom Nowak, School for New Learning