Global Engagement > Faculty Resources > Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program for Faculty

Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program for Faculty

​​​​​​​​DePaul faculty members are encouraged to pursue Fulbright awards, which allow them to spend time abroad teaching and/or doing research. The application deadline is typically in early August of every year and the university has a dedicated Fulbright Liaison who can assist faculty in the application process. Faculty workshops (in both LPC and the Loop) are hosted regularly by the Liaison. The Liaison is also available for departmental and one-on-one sessions. See below for further information and resources.


Dr. Scott Bucking
Dr. Scott Bucking
Faculty Fulbright Liaison

A Fulbright alumnus himself, Scott held a Senior Scholar Fulbright Award in 2016 at the Jacob Blaustein Institutes for Desert Research in Sde Boker, Israel. He is an Associate Professor of Ancient Mediterranean Studies and Director of Graduate Studies in the History Department. Scott is also the director of two archaeological field projects on late antiquity—one at Avdat in southern Israel and the other at Beni Hassan in Middle Egypt. He has extensive grant-writing experience and looks forward to working with faculty on preparing their Fulbright applications. Contact Scott at (773) 325-1562, or

The Fullbright Legacy and DePaul University

President Harry Truman signing the Fulbright Act, August 1, 1946

IMAGE: JFK Library, Digital ID JFKPOF-101-006-p0072

President Harry Truman signing the Fulbright Act, August 1, 1946

Sponsored by the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs at the U.S. Department of State, the Fulbright Program was established in 1946 to expand and strengthen the relationships between the people of the United States and citizens of the rest of the world. In the recent past, DePaul has had more than a dozen Fulbright recipients (Fulbright Award ​Reci​pients​)​. Consider applying and be part of this rich legacy! ​

Did you know?

Receiving a Fulbright award automatically qualifies tenured/ tenure-track faculty for a university leave—click here Leave Policy ​to learn more about the policy