DePaul University Global Engagement > Faculty Resources > Faculty Involvement

Faculty Involvement

DePaul emphasizes social responsibility and service to the community and seeks to structure meaningful international experiences for our students and the communities with which they come in contact. Global Engagement welcomes faculty participation in a variety of ways - you can read more below about some of the opportunities for faculty to engage at the university, local and global level.

Internationalization Efforts at DePaul

DePaul faculty and staff serve a unique role by participating in the internationalization process of the university and advising the provost on international engagement matters. Faculty and staff currently serve on the following committees at DePaul:

Comprehensive Internationalization Committee

The Comprehensive Internationalization Committee (CIC) is the university committee that coordinates with faculty various aspects of the internationalization process of the university. Co-chaired by the Associate Provost for Global Engagement and Online Learning and a faculty member, CIC is expected to:

  • evaluate continuously whether matters in front of the committee need to be shepherded through existing processes involving CCP, CAP and/or the entire Faculty Council;
  • coordinate, in conjunction with the ongoing revision of the university's learning goals, and the ongoing program review process in the Liberal Studies Program, a process of periodic inventory and sustained active expansion of the internationalization of the curriculum at DePaul;
  • review and approve the study abroad component of First Year Abroad experiences;
  • advise the Associate Provost and the Provost on the prioritization of the implementation of proposed and approved short-term study abroad experiences in case of capacity issues;
  • advise the Associate Provost and the Provost on academic suitability of candidate international partners;
  • coordinate a regular exchange of information on international initiatives in the various colleges, explicitly aimed at:
    • creating synergies and collaborations
    • avoiding duplications of efforts
    • leveraging best practices
    • ensuring adherence to set guidelines
  • ensure information on existing partnerships with international strategic partners is properly disseminated to the units.

CIC MEMBERSHIP

Faculty Name Department College Term Note
Bedi, Monu Law 2018
Elias, Cathy Music 2018
Farkas, Richard Political Science LAS 2018
Gamino, Christina SOAMIS Business 2018
Graupmann, Verena Psychology CSH 2018
Jiang, Bin Management Business 2017
Jin, Ll Modern Languages LAS 2018
Makagon, Daniel Communication 2018
Markley, Melissa Marketing Business 2017
Murillo, Carlos Theatre 2018
Ockerman, Melissa Counseling and Special Education Education 2018
Orban, Clara Modern Languages LAS 2017 Co-Chair
Steel, Rob SCA CDM 2018
Tolliver Atta, Derise SNL 2017
Besana, GianMario Associate Provost Open Co-Chair, Ex Officio
Costello, Kari Assistant Vice President for Global Engagement Open Ex Officio
Shanahan, John Director, Liberal Studies Program Open Ex Officio
​​

College International Committees

All colleges and schools at DePaul are invited to create internal committee structures to support the internationalization process at the local level. Among other responsibilities the local structures also create and manage the approval process for short-term study abroad programs originating within each unit.

If you have any ideas about advancing internationalization within your college, we recommend reaching out to your College's International Committee.


Driehaus College of Business Internationa​l Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Rebel Cole Finance rcole@depaul.edu
Zafar Iqbal, ex officio Associate Dean ziqbal@depaul.edu
Grace Lemmon Management glemmon@depaul.edu
Hui Lin Accountancy & MIS hlin14@depaul.edu
Melissa Markley, Chair Marketing mmarkley@depaul.edu
Thomas Mondschean Economics tmondsch@depaul.edu
Nicholas Thomas Hospitality Leadership nthoma15@depaul.edu

College of Communication International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Luisela Alvaray, Co-chair Communication lalvaray@depaul.edu
Shu-Chuan Kelly Chu Communication schu7@depaul.edu
Sydney Dillard Communication sdillar2@depaul.edu
Rajul Jain Communication rjain6@depaul.edu
Daniel Makagon, Co-chair Communication dmakagon@depaul.edu
Michaela Winchatz Communication mwinchat@depaul.edu

College of Computing and Digital Media International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Olayele Adelakun, Chair CDM oadelaku@depaul.edu
Shiro Akiyoshi CDM sakiyosh@cdm.depaul.edu
Xiaoping Jia CDM xjia@cdm.depaul.edu
Ed Keenan CDM ekeenan2@depaul.edu
Gary Novak CDM sparitsi@depaul.edu
B RIch CDM brich3@depaul.edu
John Rogers​ CDM jrogers@depaul.edu
Noriko Tomuro CDM ntomuro@cdm.depaul.edu
Duru Turkoglu CDM dturkogl@depaul.edu

College of Education International Commimttee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Philip Gnilka Counseling and Special Education pgnilka@depaul.edu
Gayle Mindes Early Childhood Education gmindes@depaul.edu
Karen Monkman Education Policy Studies and Research kmonkman@depaul.edu
Melissa Ockerman, Chair Counseling and Special Education mockerma@depaul.edu
Sung Park-Johnson Bilingual-Bicultural Education sparkjoh@depaul.edu

College of Law International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Monu Bedi Law mbedi@depaul.edu
Sumi Cho Law scho@depaul.edu
Alberto Coll Law acoll@depaul.edu
Patty Gerstenblith, Chair Law pgersten@depaul.edu
Brian Havel Law bhavel@depaul.edu
Barry Kellman Law bkellman@depaul.edu
Allison Tirres, ex-officio Law atirres@depaul.edu

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Yuki Miyamoto Religious Studies ymiyamot@depaul.edu
Michele Morano English mmorano@depaul.edu
Sanjukta Mukherjee Women's & Gender Studies smukher8@depaul.edu
Clara Orban Modern Languages corban@depaul.edu
Warren Schultz, Co-facilitator LAS Associate Dean wschultz@depaul.edu
Shailja Sharma, Co-facilitator LAS Assocaite Dean ssharma@depaul.edu

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Study Abroad Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Julia Woesthoff, Chair History  j.woesthoff@depaul.edu
​Emanuele Colombo Catholic Studies​ ecolombo@depaul.edu​
Delia Cosentino History of Art & Architecture dcosent1@depaul.edu
Li Jin Modern Languages ljin2@depaul.edu
Susana Martinez Modern Languages smartine@depaul.edu
Raphael Ogom School of Public Service rogom@depaul.edu
​Christina Rivers Political Science​ crivers@depaul.edu​​
Neil Vincent Master of Social Work nvincen2@depaul.edu
David Wellman Religious Studies dwellman@depaul.edu
Ron Fernandes (ex officio) School of Public Service rfernan7@depaul.edu
Director of Study Abroad (ex officio) Global Engagement - Study Abroad nhayash1@depaul.edu
Howard Rosing (ex officio) Steans Center hrosing@depaul.edu
Warren Schultz (ex officio) History & LAS Associate Dean wschultz@depaul.edu

College of Science and Health International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Bernhard Beck-Winchatz STEM bbeckwin@depaul.edu
Phil Funk, Chair Biology pfunk@depaul.edu
Lihua Jin Chemistry ljin1@depaul.edu
Cecilia Martinez-Torteya Psychology cmart121@depaul.edu
Antonio Polo Psychology apolo@depaul.edu

The Music School International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Katherin (Kate) Brucher Music kbrucher@depaul.edu
Cathy Elias, Chair Music celias@depaul.edu
Ilya Kaler Music ikaler@depaul.edu
Seung-Won Oh Music soh14@depaul.edu
Rami Solomonow Music ramrons@comcast.net
George Vatchnadze Music gvatchna@depaul.edu

School For New Learning International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Derise Tolliver Atta, Chair SNL dtollive@depaul.edu
Steffanie Triller Fry SNL striller@depaul.edu
Caroline Kisiel​ ​SNL ckisiel@depaul.edu​
Gabriele Strohschen SNL gstrohsc@depaul.edu
Gretchen Wilbur SNL gwilbur@depaul.edu
Director of Study Abroad, ex officio Global Engagement - Study Abroad nhayash1@depaul.edu
​​​​

Faculty ​Ambassador Program

DePaul's Faculty Ambassador Program supports the university's global engagement and international recruitment strategies by complementing existing international travel plans of selected faculty to host or attend international events on behalf of the university. To learn more, visit the Faculty Ambassador Program page.

Become a Host for MEAL with DePaul

MEAL with DePaul is a program that invites DePaul faculty and staff members to host international students in their homes for a meal during the quarter.  DePaul faculty and staff interested in hosting a MEAL with DePaul event may complete a host application.  Visit the MEAL with DePaul page for more information.  

Within the Local International Community

DePaul is proud of its prime location in the global city of Chicago. As reflected in the university’s Vision 2018 strategic plan, DePaul boasts its strategic goal to “leverage the global diversity of Chicago, infuse international and comparative perspectives throughout teaching, research and service missions of the university.” You can learn more about the local international community and our local partners at the Local Community Partners page.

​​