Global Engagement > Faculty Resources > Faculty Involvement

Faculty Involvement

DePaul emphasizes social responsibility and service to the community and seeks to structure meaningful international experiences for our students and the communities with which they come in contact. Global Engagement welcomes faculty participation in a variety of ways - you can read more below about some of the opportunities for faculty to engage at the university, local and global level.

Internationalization Efforts at DePaul

DePaul faculty and staff serve a unique role by participating in the internationalization process of the university and advising the provost on international engagement matters. Faculty and staff currently serve on the following committees at DePaul:

Comprehensive Internationalization Committee

T​he Comprehensive Internationalization Committee (CIC) is the university committee that coordinates with faculty various aspects of the internationalization process of the university. Co-chaired by the Associate Provost for Global Engagement and Online Learning and a faculty member, CIC is expected to:

  • evaluate continuously whether matters in front of the committee need to be shepherded through existing processes involving CCP, CAP and/or the entire Faculty Council;
  • coordinate, in conjunction with the ongoing revision of the university's learning goals, and the ongoing program review process in the Liberal Studies Program, a process of periodic inventory and sustained active expansion of the internationalization of the curriculum at DePaul;
  • review and approve the study abroad component of First Year Abroad experiences;
  • advise the Associate Provost and the Provost on the prioritization of the implementation of proposed and approved short-term study abroad experiences in case of capacity issues;
  • advise the Associate Provost and the Provost on academic suitability of candidate international partners;
  • coordinate a regular exchange of information on international initiatives in the various colleges, explicitly aimed at:
    • creating synergies and collaborations
    • avoiding duplications of efforts
    • leveraging best practices
    • ensuring adherence to set guidelines
  • ensure information on existing partnerships with international strategic partners is properly disseminated to the units.

CIC MEMBERSHIP

Faculty Name Department College Term Note
Friedland, Jerold
Law 2021
Elias, Cathy
Music 2021
Farkas, Richard Political Science LAS 2021
Donley, Thomas Economics Business 2021
Graupmann, Verena  Psychology CSH 2021
Li Jin
Modern Languages
LAS​
2022
Uysal, Nur

Communication
2021
Markley, Melissa​ Marketing
Business​
​2020

Mondschean, Thomas Economics Business 2020
Dolembo, Sally Theatre 2021
Ockerman, Melissa Counseling and Special Education Education 2019 Co-Chair
​Steel, Rob ​SCA CDM​ 2021​​
Woesthoff, Julia (On Leave Fall 2019-20, replaced by Warren Schultz) History LAS 2020
VACANT
SCPS

Besana, GianMario Associate Provost
Open Co-Chair, Ex Officio
Costello, Kari​ Assistant Vice President for Global Engagement
Open Ex Officio
Shanahan, John Director, Liberal Studies Program
Open Ex Officio
​​​​

College International Committees

All colleges and schools at DePaul are invited to create internal committee structures to support the internationalization process at the local level. Among other responsibilities the local structures also create and manage the approval process for short-term study abroad programs originating within each unit.

If you have any ideas about advancing internationalization within your college, we recommend reaching out to your College's International Committee.


Driehaus College of Business International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Sherri Henderson, ex officio
International Admission Coordinator shender3@depaul.edu
Thomas Donley, ex officio Professor and Associate Dean of Operations & International Programs, Department of Economics tdonley@depaul.edu
​Marty McGivern, ex officio Director of Study Abroad ​martha.mcgivern@depaul.edu
Nezih Altay Management and Entrepreneurship naltay@depaul.edu
Hui Lin Accountancy & MIS hlin14@depaul.edu
Melissa Markley, Chair Marketing mmarkley@depaul.edu
Thomas Mondschean Economics tmondsch@depaul.edu
Brian Barker Hospitality Leadership bbarker6@depaul.edu
​Quoc Nguyen Finance​ qnguye14​@depaul.edu

College of Communication International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
​Nur Uysal, Co-chair Communication nuysal1@depaul.edu​
Michael DeAngelis, Co-chair Communication mdeangel@depaul.edu
Luisela Alvaray
Communication lalvaray@depaul.edu
Sydney Dillard Communication sdillar2@depaul.edu
Daniel Makagon Communication dmakagon@depaul.edu
Kelly Chu​ Communication​ schu7@depaul.edu​
Michaela Winchatz, Advisory Communication mwinchat@depaul.edu

College of Computing and Digital Media International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Olayele Adelakun, Chair CDM oadelaku@depaul.edu
Shiro Akiyoshi CDM sakiyosh@cdm.depaul.edu
James Choi CDM jchoi26@depaul.edu
Xiaoping Jia CDM xjia@cdm.depaul.edu
Nathan Matteson CDM nmatteso@depaul.edu
Sharief Oteafy CDM soteafy@depaul.edu
B RIch CDM brich3@depaul.edu
Rob Steel CDM rsteel@depaul.edu
Noriko Tomuro CDM ntomuro@depaul.edu
James Vu CDM jyu4@depaul.edu

College of Education International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Stephen Haymes
Social and Cultural Foundations in Education
shaymes@depaul.edu
Sung Park-Johnson Bilingual-Bicultural Education sparkjoh@depaul.edu
Linsey Sabielny
​​Counseling and Special Education
lsabieln@depaul.edu
Melissa Ockerman, Chair Counseling and Special Education mockerma@depaul.edu

College of Law International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Monu Bedi Law mbedi@depaul.edu
Sumi Cho Law scho@depaul.edu
Alberto Coll Law acoll@depaul.edu
Patty Gerstenblith, Chair Law pgersten@depaul.edu
Brian Havel Law bhavel@depaul.edu
Barry Kellman Law bkellman@depaul.edu
Allison Tirres, ex-officio Law atirres@depaul.edu

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Yuki Miyamoto Religious Studies ymiyamot@depaul.edu
Michele Morano English mmorano@depaul.edu
Sanjukta Mukherjee Women's & Gender Studies smukher8@depaul.edu
Clara Orban Modern Languages corban@depaul.edu
Warren Schultz, Co-facilitator LAS Associate Dean wschultz@depaul.edu
Shailja Sharma, Co-facilitator LAS Assocaite Dean ssharma@depaul.edu

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Study Abroad Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Julia Woesthoff, Chair History  j.woesthoff@depaul.edu
Emanuele Colombo Catholic Studies ecolombo@depaul.edu
Delia Cosentino History of Art & Architecture dcosent1@depaul.edu
Li Jin Modern Languages ljin2@depaul.edu
Susana Martinez Modern Languages smartine@depaul.edu
Raphael Ogom School of Public Service rogom@depaul.edu
Christina Rivers Political Science crivers@depaul.edu
Neil Vincent Master of Social Work nvincen2@depaul.edu
David Wellman Religious Studies dwellman@depaul.edu
Director of Study Abroad (ex officio) Global Engagement - Study Abroad martha.mcgivern@depaul.edu
Howard Rosing (ex officio) Steans Center hrosing@depaul.edu
Warren Schultz (ex officio) History & LAS Associate Dean wschultz@depaul.edu

College of Science and Health International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Bernhard Beck-Winchatz STEM bbeckwin@depaul.edu
Lihua Jin
Chemistry ljin1@depaul.edu
Yan Li, Chair Psychology yli34@depaul.edu
Cecilia Martinez-Torteya Psychology cmart121@depaul.edu
Antonio Polo Psychology apolo@depaul.edu

The Music School International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Katherin (Kate) Brucher Music kbrucher@depaul.edu
Cathy Elias, Chair Music celias@depaul.edu
Ilya Kaler Music ikaler@depaul.edu
Seung-Won Oh Music soh14@depaul.edu
Rami Solomonow Music ramrons@comcast.net
George Vatchnadze Music gvatchna@depaul.edu

School of Continuing and Professional Studies International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
VACANT SNL
Steffanie Triller Fry SNL striller@depaul.edu
Caroline Kisiel SNL ckisiel@depaul.edu
Gabriele Strohschen SNL gstrohsc@depaul.edu
VACANT SNL
Director of Study Abroad, ex officio Global Engagement - Study Abroad martha.mcgivern@depaul.edu

Faculty Ambassador Program

DePaul's Faculty Ambassador Program supports the university's global engagement and international recruitment strategies by complementing existing international travel plans of selected faculty to host or attend international events on behalf of the university. To learn more, visit the Faculty Ambassador Program page.

Become a Host for MEAL with DePaul

MEAL with DePaul is a program that invites DePaul faculty and staff members to host international students in their homes for a meal during the quarter.  DePaul faculty and staff interested in hosting a MEAL with DePaul event may complete a host application.  Visit the MEAL with DePaul page for more information.  

Within the Local International Community

DePaul is proud of its prime location in the global city of Chicago. As reflected in the university’s Vision 2018 strategic plan, DePaul boasts its strategic goal to “leverage the global diversity of Chicago, infuse international and comparative perspectives throughout teaching, research and service missions of the university.” You can learn more about the local international community and our local partners at the Local Community Partners page.

  • Contact Us

    We welcome faculty input and invite you to discuss ways to become more involved.

    Email