Global Engagement > Faculty Resources > Faculty Involvement

Faculty Involvement

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​DePaul emphasizes social responsibility and service to the community and seeks to structure meaningful international experiences for our students and the communities with which they come in contact. Global Engagement welcomes faculty participation in a variety of ways - you can read more below about some of the opportunities for faculty to engage at the university, local and global level.

Internationalization Efforts at DePaul

DePaul faculty and staff serve a unique role by participating in the internationalization process of the university and advising the provost on international engagement matters. Faculty and staff currently serve on the following committees at DePaul:

The Comprehensive Internationalization Committee (CIC) is the university committee that coordinates with faculty various aspects of the internationalization process of the university. Co-chaired by the Associate Provost for Global Engagement and Online Learning and a faculty member, CIC is expected to:

  • evaluate continuously whether matters in front of the committee need to be shepherded through existing processes involving CCP, CAP and/or the entire Faculty Council;
  • coordinate, in conjunction with the ongoing revision of the university's learning goals, and the ongoing program review process in the Liberal Studies Program, a process of periodic inventory and sustained active expansion of the internationalization of the curriculum at DePaul;
  • review and approve the study abroad component of First Year Abroad experiences;
  • advise the Associate Provost and the Provost on the prioritization of the implementation of proposed and approved short-term study abroad experiences in case of capacity issues;
  • advise the Associate Provost and the Provost on academic suitability of candidate international partners;
  • coordinate a regular exchange of information on international initiatives in the various colleges, explicitly aimed at:
    • creating synergies and collaborations
    • avoiding duplications of efforts
    • leveraging best practices
    • ensuring adherence to set guidelines
  • ensure information on existing partnerships with international strategic partners is properly disseminated to the units.

CIC MEMBERSHIP

Faculty Name Department College Term Note
Adelakun, Olayele   CDM 2024  
Aguirre, Windsor   CSH 2024  
Coll, Alberto   LAW 2024  
Dolembo, Sally   Theatre 2024 renewed 2021 
Jin, Li Modern Languages LAS 20232 renewed 2019
Kisiel, Caroline   SCPS 2023  
Lee, I-Hao   Music 2024  
Markley, Melissa Marketing Business 2023 renewed 2020
Mondschean, Thomas Economis Business 2023 renewed 2021
Obelleiro, Gonzalo   Education 2023  
Souchuk, Anna LAS 2024
Uysal, Nur   Communication 2024 Co-Chair

Woesthoff, Julia

History LAS 2023 renewed 2020
Besana, GianMario Associate Provost   Open Co-Chair, Ex Officio
Costello, Kari Assistant Vice President for Global Engagement   Open Ex Officio
Shanahan, John Director, Liberal Studies Program   Open Ex Officio

All colleges and schools at DePaul are invited to create internal committee structures to support the internationalization process at the local level. Among other responsibilities the local structures also create and manage the approval process for short-term study abroad programs originating within each unit.

If you have any ideas about advancing internationalization within your college, we recommend reaching out to your College's International Committee.

Driehaus College of Business International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Thomas Donley, ex officio Professor and Associate Dean of Operations & International Programs, Department of Economics tdonley@depaul.edu
Marty McGivern, ex officio Director of Study Abroad martha.mcgivern@depaul.edu
Hui Lin Accountancy & MIS hlin14@depaul.edu
Ming Zhou Accountancy & MIS ming.zhou@depaul.edu
Melissa Markley, Chair Marketing mmarkley@depaul.edu
Thomas Mondschean Economics tmondsch@depaul.edu
Lisa Young Hospitality Leadership lisa.young@depaul.edu
Quoc Nguyen Finance qnguye14@depaul.edu
Ivana Zilic Management & Entrepreneurship IZILIC@depaul.edu

College of Communication International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Nur Uysal, Chair Communication nuysal1@depaul.edu
Michael DeAngelis Communication mdeangel@depaul.edu
Sydney Dillard Communication sdillar2@depaul.edu
Daniel Makagon Communication dmakagon@depaul.edu
Kelly Chu Communication schu7@depaul.edu
Teboul, Jean-Claude Communication jteboul@depaul.edu

Jarvis College of Computing and Digital Media International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Shiro Akiyoshi CDM sakiyosh@cdm.depaul.edu
Brian Andrews CDM brian.andrews@depaul.edu
Meghann Artes CDM martes@cdm.depaul.edu
Pete Biagi CDM pbiagi@cdm.depaul.edu
Dominque Brown Study Abroad – Ex Officio dbrown36@depaul.edu
Mike Chase CDM mchase2@cdm.depaul.edu
Shayna Connelly CDM sconnelly@cdm.depaul.edu
Nathan Matteson CDM nmatteso@depaul.edu
Naghmeh Farzaneh CDM n.farzaneh@depaul.edu
Riyad Hasan CDM riyad.hasan@depaul.edu
Rob Steel, chair CDM rsteel@depaul.edu
Michael Flores CDM mflore70@cdm.depaul.edu
Josh Jones CDM jjones@cdm.depaul.edu
Edward Keenan CDM ekeenan2@cdm.depaul.edu
Heather Quinn CDM hquinn2@cdm.depaul.edu
Anuradha Rana CDM anu.rana@depaul.edu
Jean-Phiippe Labruyere CDM jlabruyere@cdm.depaul.edu
Ilyas Ustun CDM IUSTUN@depaul.edu
Jay Margalus CDM jmargal@depaul.edu
Danny Mittleman CDM danny@cdm.depaul.edu
Enid Montague CDM emontag1@cdm.depaul.edu
Gary Novak CDM gnovak@cim.depaul.edu
Savvas Paritsis CDM savvas.paritsis@depaul.edu
John Rogers CDM john.rogers@depaul.edu
Laura Rossi Garcia CDM LROSSIGA@depaul.edu
Brian Schrank CDM bschrank@cdm.depaul.edu
Lien Tran CDM lien.tran@depaul.edu
Jennifer McClelland CDM jmcclel2@cdm.depaul.edu
Martha McGivern CDM martha.mcgivern@depaul.edu


College of Education International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Stephen Haymes
Teacher Education shaymes@depaul.edu
Gonzalo Obelleiro, Chair Leadership, Language and Curriculum gobellei@depaul.edu
Rebecca Michel Counseling and Special Education rebecca.michel@depaul.edu

College of Law International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Alberto Coll Law acoll@depaul.edu
Patty Gerstenblith Law pgersten@depaul.edu
Liz Ward Law EWARD3@depaul.edu
Jerry Friedland Law jfriedla@depaul.edu
Steve Greenberger, chair Law SGREENBE@depaul.edu

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Study Abroad Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Julia Woesthoff, Chair History  j.woesthoff@depaul.edu
Emanuele Colombo Catholic Studies ecolombo@depaul.edu
Delia Cosentino History of Art & Architecture dcosent1@depaul.edu
Li Jin Modern Languages ljin2@depaul.edu
Susana Martinez Modern Languages smartine@depaul.edu
Raphael Ogom School of Public Service rogom@depaul.edu
Christina Rivers Political Science crivers@depaul.edu
Neil Vincent Master of Social Work nvincen2@depaul.edu
David Wellman Religious Studies dwellman@depaul.edu
Director of Study Abroad (ex officio) Global Engagement - Study Abroad martha.mcgivern@depaul.edu
Howard Rosing (ex officio) Steans Center hrosing@depaul.edu
Gardner-Huggett, Joanna (ex officio) History of Art and Architecture & LAS Associate Dean jgardner@depaul.edu

College of Science and Health International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Klimas, Christie Environmental Science and Studies cklimas@depaul.edu
Aguirre, Windsor Biology WAGUIRRE@depaul.edu
Yan Li, Chair Psychology yli34@depaul.edu
Bystriansky, Jason Biolgoy JBYSTRIA@depaul.edu
Graupmann, Verena Psychology vgraupma@depaul.edu
Funk, Phil, Ex officio Biology pfunk@depaul.edu

The Music School International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
I-hao Lee Music ilee15@depaul.edu

School of Continuing and Professional Studies International Committee

Committee Member Department Email Address
Telisa Robinson-Davis SCPS International Coordinator trobins4@deapul.edu
Caroline Kisiel SCPS, Chair ckisiel@depaul.edu
Sara Kimble SCPS sara.kimble@depaul.edu
Director of Study Abroad, ex officio Global Engagement - Study Abroad martha.mcgivern@depaul.edu

Faculty Ambassador Program

DePaul's Faculty Ambassador Program supports the university's global engagement and international recruitment strategies by complementing existing international travel plans of selected faculty to host or attend international events on behalf of the university. To learn more, visit the Faculty Ambassador Program page.

Become a Host for MEAL with DePaul

MEAL with DePaul is a program that invites DePaul faculty and staff members to host international students in their homes for a meal during the quarter.  DePaul faculty and staff interested in hosting a MEAL with DePaul event may complete a host application.  Visit the MEAL with DePaul page for more information.  

Within the Local International Community

DePaul is proud of its prime location in the global city of Chicago. As reflected in the university’s Vision 2018 strategic plan, DePaul boasts its strategic goal to “leverage the global diversity of Chicago, infuse international and comparative perspectives throughout teaching, research and service missions of the university.” You can learn more about the local international community and our local partners at the Local Community Partners page.

Contact Us

We welcome faculty input and invite you to discuss ways to become more involved.

 

Email