DePaul University Research Services > Research Protections > Institutional Review Board (IRB) > About Us

About Us

The Institutional Review Board (IRB) is a university-wide committee formally appointed by DePaul's President to review all research activities involving human subjects conducted by DePaul faculty, staff, or students. The IRB is made up of a diverse group of DePaul faculty and staff with representatives from various colleges, schools, and departments, as well as local community representatives.

The IRB fulfills DePaul’s contract with the federal Office of Human Research Protections (OHRP) to ensure that all human subjects research (whether federally-funded or not) conducted by DePaul faculty, staff, and students comply with the federal regulations (45 CFR 46) and adhere to the statement of principles contained in the Ethical Principles and Guidelines for the Protection of Human Subjects of Research (The Belmont Report). IRB approval affirms the methodological and ethical quality of the research, and it is the primary responsibility of the IRB to review research activities that involve human subjects or their data to ensure that:

  • The risks to the participant are outweighed by the possible benefits to the participant and/or the importance of the knowledge to be gained or its benefit to society.
  • The rights and welfare of each participant will be adequately protected.
  • Informed consent is obtained by adequate and appropriate means, when applicable.
  • Long-term research protocols are reviewed at least annually, when applicable.
  • The participant is fully aware of his/her rights, risks, benefits, and the nature of the procedures.

Federal Wide Assurance

DePaul University's Federal Wide Assurance (FWA) is #00000099.

IRB Members 2022-2023

Neil Vincent, PhD, IRB Chair Department of Social Work
Shannon Simonovich, PhD/RN, Vice Chair School of Nursing
Jessica Bloom Office of Research Services
Leah Bryant College of Communication
Joanna Buscemi Department of Psychology
Jessica Choplin Department of Psychology
Rebecca Feinberg
College of Law, College of Health Sciences
​Melodie Fox
​Office of Research Services
Bradley Hoot Modern Languages
Philip Yates
Mathematical Sciences
Jessica Jerome College of Health Sciences, Department of Anthropology
Filipo Sharevski
College of Computing & Digital Media
Darrel Cannon Unaffiliated Prisoner Representative
Mojdeh Bayat
College of Education
Lisa Tarr, Community Member Unaffiliated
Kashica Webber-Ritchey
​​School of Nursing