DePaul University Research Services > Research Protections > Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) > About Us

About Us

The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) is a federally-mandated research oversight committee charged with ensuring the safe acquisition, use, and disposal of all bio hazardous agents (including recombinant and synthetic nucleic acid molecules, infectious materials, and select agents) at DePaul University. It is the responsibility of the IBC to establish appropriate health and safety policies in accordance with federal regulations and guidelines that govern biological safety and to evaluate research and teaching activities at DePaul for biological safety considerations.

IBC Members

Justin Maresh, PhD, Chair Department of Chemistry
David George, Vice Chair University of Chicago
Kathleen Abma Environmental Health and Safety
Jeremie Fant Chicago Botanic Garden
Janine Kirin
Research Support Facility
JingJing Kipp Department of Biological Sciences
Megan Schrementi
Department of Biological Sciences
Nicolette Zielinski-Mozny, DVM, PhD Northwestern University
Brian Henson (alternate Abma) Compliance and Risk Management
Jessica Bloom* Interim Director of Research Compliance - Academic Affairs
Daniela Stan Raicu* Associate Provost for Research
*ex-officio advisors​