Office of Institutional Diversity & Equity > Advocacy > Diversity Partners > Ability Alliance with Allies and Advocates

Ability Alliance with Allies and Advocates

​​​​​​​Ability Alliance with Allies and Advocates (A4)

The Ability Alliance with Allies and Advocates is a new Employee Resource Group created to provide a networked community of DePaul University employees with disabilities, and their allies and advocates, for the purpose of support, education, and change with a focus on building a workplace that welcomes employees with differing abilities. 

Executive Board Members

Kelly Tzoumis: ktzoumis@depaul.edu  

Kent Klaus: kklaus1@depaul.edu 

Elizabeth Vastine: ejvastine@gmail.com 

Maija Renko: maija.renko@depaul.edu

Reina Nomura: rnomura@depaul.edu

Samantha Chevalier: scheval2@depaul.edu

Staff

Erin Roux: eroux1@depaul.edu​

​A Proclamation on International Day of Persons with Disabilities, 2023

​​​On December 1, 2023, the President of the United States put forth  A Proclamation on International Day of Persons with Disabilities, 2023.

Disability:In 

​Disability:In offers a variety of events and activities that can be viewed on the DisabilityIn Calendar.


 

 

​​

Meeting Schedule

​Below please find more information from Kent Klaus and Kelly Tzoumis that was covered during the initial A4 meeting that took place on May 26, 2021. 

You can also view the beginning of the September 24, 2021, A4 meeting, below.

 

 

 

Survey

We encourage our DePaul community members to complete this A4 survey which will help provide guidance for moving forward and building community at DePaul. 

Please contact Kelly Tzoumis ktzoumis@depaul.edu with any questions. 


​From the Periphery BUILD Session

On May 20, 2021, we were honored to have Pia Justesen, a Danish human rights lawyer, facilitate a BUILD session about her book, From the Periphery . This book details around 40 first-person narratives of people in the United States who explain what it's like to be treated differently by society because of visible and invisible disabilities. Please click below to view the recording.