Office of the General Counsel > Educational Resources > Travel to Embargoed Countries

Travel to Cuba and Embargoed Countries

The United States Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) regulates travel to embargoed countries (Cuba, Iran, Syria, North Korea and Sudan) and travel-related transactions, including the reimbursement of travel expenses. To ensure compliance with these regulations, the OGC in conjunction with the Accounts Payable department has developed procedures governing DePaul’s reimbursement of Cuba-related travel expenses.

Please note that we are currently updating our procedures to reflect recent action by the United States government to ease restrictions on travel to Cuba.

If you are a first-time traveler to Cuba on DePaul business, please contact the OGC at (312) 362-8865 prior to your departure. Please also contact the OGC prior to travelling to other embargoed destinations.