Community College Partnerships > About > Reputation


DePaul University continues to be a leader in transfer within the state of Illinois. Since 2008, DePaul has annually enrolled more transfer students than any other private non-profit university within the state of Illinois.*

In 2019, 62% of new transfer students came from Illinois community colleges, with our top community college enrollments from the College of DuPage, Harper College, Oakton Community College, Harold Washington College and the College of Lake County. The Driehaus College of Business remains our largest transfer college, with just over one-third of new transfers enrolling.**

DePaul remains a full-participating member in the Illinois Articulation Initiative (IAI) agreement, and accepts the IAI-GECC for incoming Illinois community college transfer students.

Members of the DePaul transfer team within Enrollment Management have held leadership roles on the Transfer Advisory Committees for both the Illinois Association for College Admission (IACAC) and National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC), as well as served as 4-Year Co-Chair of the Illinois Transfer Coordinators group.

Phy Theta Kappa Honor Society logo
Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) has named DePaul University to its 2020 Transfer Honor Roll in recognition of the dynamic pathways they have created to support transfer students. DePaul University has been named to the Transfer Honor Roll consecutively since the inception of the award in 2016.

The Transfer Honor Roll recognizes four-year colleges and universities that have developed transfer pathways that lead to excellence and success among community college transfer students. Colleges were selected based on their Transfer Friendliness Rating.  

*Illinois Board of Higher Education, Undergraduate Transfer Statewide Totals,

**2019 Enrollment Summary, Office of Institutional Research & Market Analytics,