The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) is a federally-mandated research oversight committee charged with ensuring the safe acquisition, use, and disposal of all biohazardous agents (including recombinant and synthetic nucleic acid molecules, infectious materials, and select agents) at DePaul University. It is the responsibility of the IBC to establish appropriate health and safety policies in accordance with federal regulations and guidelines that govern biological safety and to evaluate research and teaching activities at DePaul for biological safety considerations.


​​Joanna Brooke, Ph.D., Chair ​Department of Biological Sciences
​David George, Vice Chair ​Lurie Children's Hospital
​Kathleen Abma (alternate member) ​Office of Risk Management and Environmental Health and Safety
​Jeremie Fant ​Chicago Botanic Garden
​Jennifer Graham ​Office of Risk Management and Environmental Health and Safety
​Janine Kirin Research Support Facility
​Justin Maresh Department of Chemistry
​Nicolette Zielinski-Mozny, DVM, Ph.D. ​Northwestern University
Diana Alfaro* Office of Research Services - Academic Affairs
​Susan Loess-Perez* ​Director of Research Compliance - Academic Affairs
​​Lawrence Hamer* ​Interim Associate Vice President for Research
 *ex-officio advisors