Global Engagement > Global DePaul > Global Fall @ DePaul > Global Conversations

Global Conversations

​​When the COVID 19 pandemic struck in the beginning of 2020 and all in-person classes converted to online classes, Global Engagement decided to host a series of sessions offering students the opportunity to connect and reflect on the impact of COVID-19 with students from across the globe. More than a dozen DePaul faculty members partnered with faculty from our international partner universities from countries including Brazil, India, The Netherlands, Mexico, Australia, the UK and more. These sessions cultivated intercultural, meaningful discussions on how the pandemic has affected various academic disciplines and industries, such as psychology, public health, business and more.

Global Fall at DePaul: September 21 - October 2, 2020

Global Conversations Sessions

The Global Conversations are being held as a part of Global Fall at DePaul, a time for students to explore international learning opportunities abroad and in Chicago. Save the dates for dynamic global conversation sessions on September 28 through October 2, 2020.  Below, please find a list of topics with session date and times. 

To register for a session, click here.

Session Name

Description

Date and Time
(listed in 3 time zones)

Exposing who are excluded citizens in the midst of COVID-19. The case of homeless in Buenos Aires and domestic workers in Chicago

This presentation aims to provide an overview of the current conditions that both populations are undergoing within a global health crisis exacerbated by the specificities of both contexts that keep pushing both, homeless and domestic workers, to the margins, invisibilize them and ultimately, exclude them as citizens.

Monday, Sept. 28 at 5:00-6:30pm CDT
Monday, Sept. 28 at 10:00-11:30pm GMT
Tuesday, Sept. 29 at 8:00-9:30am AEST

China and the U.S. in the Age of COVID-19: Image and Reality

This event will feature conversations among university students and faculty from both China and the U.S. The primary goal is to provide a forum for everyone to share personal experiences with COVID-19 unfolding in a Chinese or American context and reflect on similarities and differences between the two societies, which may or may not have been accurately portrayed in media.

Monday, Sept. 28 at 8:00-9:30pm CDT

Tuesday, Sept. 29 at 1:00-2:30am GMT

Tuesday, Sept. 29 at 11:00am-12:30pm AEST

The Impact of COVID-19 on Entrepreneurial Endeavors: A Global Perspective

Both established and developing economies benefit from a strong support of entrepreneurial endeavors. These endeavors, however, have been impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic. Globally recognized thought leaders will provide insight from both an academic and industry perspective related to trends such as innovation, sustainability, and customer service.

Tuesday, Sept. 29 at 9:00-10:30am CDT

Tuesday, Sept. 29 at 2:00-3:30pm GMT

Wednesday, Sept. 30 at 12:00-1:30am AEST

In the Times of Corona: Contextualizing Preferred Teaching and Learning Strategies

Within a context of a global pandemic, approaches to teaching and learning need to be mindful of psychological, social, and economic fallouts for students and teachers alike. This conversation explores perceptions of the stakeholders about the roles that educators and students can collaboratively play to balance online academic requirements/goals with students’ emotional and physical well-being.

Tuesday, Sept. 29 at 9:00-10:30am CDT

Tuesday, Sept. 29 at 2:00-3:30pm GMT

Wednesday, Sept. 30 at 12:00-1:30am AEST

Strategies for integrating health, home, school and work life during the pandemic

Students will learn about the importance of each of these areas and identify unique strategies based on gender, community context, and health status.

Tuesday, Sept. 29 at 10:00-11:30am CDT

Tuesday, Sept. 29 at 3:00-4:30pm GMT

Wednesday, Sept. 30 at 1:00-2:30am AEST

The call for healing: Teaching and learning during a global pandemic

This session will examine the emotional realities of the trauma and uncertainty resulting from the pandemic and it's impact on teaching and learning, for both students and faculty. Key topics of discussion will include; the challenges to study and have classes from home while managing the emotional challenges, the pressures of time when remote learning, sharing of strategies and successes of remote learning, the challenges of creating relationships with teacher and student and students with each other while remote and how to mitigate those challenges, and issues of digital equity, collaborative learning, and instructional effectiveness.

Tuesday, Sept. 29 at 6:00-7:30pm CDT

Tuesday, Sept. 29 at 11:00pm-12:30am GMT

Wednesday, Sept. 30 at 9:00-10:30am AEST

Visions of "Democracy" under Stress
​The aim is to engage students to share their thinking about the pressures and implications of our democratic political systems when challenged by the pandemic and similar, complex crises.
Wednesday, Sept. 30 at 7:00-8:30am CDT
Wednesday, Sept. 30 at 12:00-1:30pm GMT
Wednesday, Sept. 30 at 10:00-11:30pm AEST

Integrating school, work and life during a pandemic

This session will focus on the challenges of managing school, work and life during the pandemic. Students will identify shared and unique experiences across cultures. With the guidance of faculty experts, students will explore strategies for coping (and perhaps even thriving) under these difficult circumstances.

Wednesday, Sept. 30 at 9:00-10:30am CDT
Wednesday, Sept. 30 at 2:00-3:30pm GMT
Thursday, Oct. 1 at 12:00-1:30am AEST

2021: 70th Anniversary of the Refugee Convention: Beacon of Broken Hope?

As we approach the seventieth anniversary of the Refugee Convention, the world’s refugee protection faces a crisis. Can the current system survive the challenge of refugees seeking safe haven, the complicating aspects of climate change and Covid-19? Professors will offer their expertise on international law, logistical support of refugees, and refugee and asylum law. Students, as the future leaders of our societies, will be encouraged to exchange ideas of addressing these fundamental issues for our times.

Wednesday, Sept. 30 at 9:30-11:00am CDT
Wednesday, Sept. 30 at 2:30-4:00pm GMT
Thursday, Oct. 1 at 12:30-2:00am AEST

The Impact of COVID-19 on Public Health and Development in Africa and the Diaspora

During this session, we will examine COVID-19-related lock down enforcement on access to food, health care, and other necessities by people living in Africa and the diaspora.

Thursday, Oct. 1 at 12:00-1:30pm CDT
Thursday, Oct. 1 at 5:00-6:30pm GMT
Thursday, Oct. 1 at 6:00-7:30pm WAT
Friday, Oct. 2 at 3:00-4:30am AEST

Mental Health Challenges for College Students During the time of COVID-19​

​The COVID-19 pandemic has caused a convergence of impacts on college students. Not only does the threat to health lead to poor mental health, but the unprecedented disruptions of students’ lives can also contribute to significant distress. Our panel will examine these challenges from the perspective of student and faculty experience. We will discuss what our respective institutions have done in order to meet these challenges, as well as any positive lifestyle changes or routines that COVID has engendered.​

Thursday, Oct. 1 at 6:00-7:30pm CDT
Thursday, Oct. 1 at 11:00pm-12:30am GMT
Friday, Oct. 2 at 9:00-10:30am AEST

Communicating In The Midst of COVID-19

How we communicate ideas with one another and the world, whether via art forms or social media or ways of forging connection, has drastically shifted during the COVID-19 pandemic. Our discussions will tackle how we’ve adjusted our means of communication or discovered entirely new ones, how the world is changing around those new tools, and what we hope for them in the months and years to come.

Thursday, Oct. 1 at 6:30-8:00pm CDT
Thursday, Oct. 1 at 11:30pm-1:00am GMT
Friday, Oct. 2 at 9:30-11:00am AEST

Global Business & Entrepreneurship in the New Distance Economy​

In this session, we will discuss global views in lieu of the current environment and megatrends impacting the new global economy, business and entrepreneurship, and how to prepare for the changes.

Thursday, Oct. 1 at 8:00-9:30pm CDT
Friday, Oct. 2 at 1:00-2:30am GMT
Friday, Oct. 2 at 11:00am-12:30pm AEST


Spring 2020 Global Conversations Sessions

The Spring Global Conversations received overwhelmingly positive feedback from faculty and students. Over 230 students participated in the sessions led by 47 expert faculty members from 10 different institutions. Students shared that they appreciated sharing their thoughts and experiences with others from around the world, and hearing the stories and understanding the perspectives of others. Some shared that they valued the small group discussions that delved into the following topics.


Thank you to our partner institutions:
Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences (The Netherlands)
Australian Catholic University (Australia)
Centro Universitário Christus (Brazil)
EADA Business School (Spain)
Huaqiao University (China)
Kansai University (Japan)
Loughborough University (The United Kingdom)
Nottingham Trent University (The United Kingdom)
The Open University (The United Kingdom)
Radboud University (The Netherlands)
Symbiosis International University (India)
Universidad de Buenos Aires (Argentina)
Universidad de Monterrey (Mexico)
Universidade Estadual Paulista (UNESP) (Brazil)
Universidade Federal de Uberlândia (Brazil)
University of Stirling (The United Kingdom)
University of Uyo (Nigeria)
Weif​ang University (China)